Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)

What are the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)?

Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) are political objectives set by the United Nations (UN) to ensure sustainable development worldwide in economic, social and ecological terms. They came into force on 1 January 2016 with a term of 15 years (until 2030).

They are published under the title Transforming our World: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (also shortened to Agenda 2030).

In essence, the 17 Sustainable Development Goals aim to:

  • End poverty and hunger and fight inequalities
  • Strengthen people’s self-determination, ensure gender equality and a good and healthy life for all
  • Promote prosperity for all and make lifestyles sustainable worldwide
  • Respect the ecological limits of the earth: Combat climate change, conserve and sustainably use natural resources
  • Protect human rights — ensure peace, good governance and access to justice
  • Build a global partnership